Memory Chess vs DarkSquares

DarkSquares is a seven-level blindfold chess course. Memory Chess trains position memory only. A feature table from both sites, and where each is ahead.

Memory Chess publishes this page, so it is one side of the comparison. Every fact about DarkSquares comes from DarkSquares' own public pages. .

  • Beginner to intermediate
  • 3 min read
  • By Bing Cheng

Written with AI assistance; chess positions checked by script and game facts traced to the code.

Quick answer

DarkSquares is a full blindfold chess course, with seven levels from square colours to blindfold games against Stockfish. Its position memory drill is one part of it. Memory Chess does only position memory, from 2 to 32 pieces, with no account and in 24 languages. Pick DarkSquares to learn to play blindfold, and Memory Chess for recall alone.

Takeaways

  • DarkSquares has more kinds of training, with seven levels, blindfold games, voice moves, famous games and endgames.
  • DarkSquares is free to start. Pro Lifetime is a one-time €39 launch price, €59 regular.
  • Memory Chess is free, with no paid tier and no account.
  • DarkSquares' position memory uses fixed tiers. Memory Chess lets you set the piece count and the look time.

Who this is for

  • Players choosing between the two for board memory.
  • Anyone who has used one and wants to know what the other adds.

Feature by feature

FeatureDarkSquaresMemory Chess
PriceFree tier. Pro Lifetime €39 one-time, a launch price with €59 regular.Free. No paid tier.
AccountNot needed to start. A free account adds saved progress, streaks, XP and the leaderboard.Not needed. A name and a country only to join the leaderboard.
Runs onWeb, iPhone, iPad and Android, with one account across them.Any web browser.
Site languagesNine. English, French, Spanish, German, Hindi, Portuguese, Italian, Turkish and Polish.24. The Learn guides are in English only.
Position memoryThree tiers. 3 to 8 pieces, 9 to 16 pieces in 60 seconds, 17 to 24 pieces in 120 seconds. Whether the expert tier needs Pro is not stated.Any count from 2 to 32 pieces and any look from 1 to 60 seconds.
Score after a roundNot stated on the position memory pages.An accuracy percentage, with extra pieces costing points.
Rating and rewardsXP, streaks, achievements and rated puzzles.A skill rating for each rated round.
LeaderboardWeekly, monthly and all-time.Today's daily board and four difficulty levels.
Blindfold gamesYes, against Stockfish at 8 levels, where levels 1 to 5 are free and 6 to 8 need Pro. Also against real players through Lichess, or with a friend.No.
CourseSeven levels, and an 8-lesson blindfold method.Learn guides with drills, no levels.
Voice movesYes. One voice game a day free, unlimited with Pro.No.
Famous games and endgames6 famous games and 3 endgame drills free, all with Pro.No.

Where DarkSquares is ahead

  • Blindfold play. You can play full games against Stockfish in five board modes, from the full board to a blank one. You can also play real players through Lichess, or a friend. Memory Chess has no games at all.
  • A course. Seven levels take you from square colours to full blindfold games, each with a skill to check before you move on.
  • Mobile apps. DarkSquares has iPhone, iPad and Android apps. Memory Chess runs only in a browser.
  • Range of drills. Knight and bishop routes, attack detection, Position Reconstruction (apply a list of moves, then place the final position), tactics solved in your head, voice input and famous games.

Where Memory Chess differs

  • It has no paid tier, so nothing is held back for buyers.
  • You set the round. Any piece count from 2 to 32 and any look from 1 to 60 seconds, not three fixed tiers.
  • Every round returns an accuracy figure, rated rounds move a skill rating, and a daily board gives every player the same position.
  • The site is in 24 languages against DarkSquares' 9.
  • It does one job. If you want only position recall, there is less to choose between.

Read next